Why I Love Flying

“Once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been, and there you will always long to return.” -Leonardo da Vinci

I really love this quote. I had a life changing experience in an Aviat Husky two years ago. It feels like it was yesterday. I really felt this exact sensation being described here. For someone who never had the ability to taste flight for themselves, he had a pretty amazing imagination. Flying along the mountain slopes taking in the October season as it had changed all of the leaves to burnt orange was jaw dropping. The air was so smooth on that trip to Afton, Wyoming. I don’t think I’ve ever felt more free in my life. Kerry gave me the sticks in the backseat and I was able to fly for 30 minutes. We were only 20 feet above the surface of the river, but it didn’t seem to scare me. I was so at peace with the situation and it was really a moment in time as Patty Wagstaff says. I had my opportunity to be in the moment 100% and to use my focus and concentration on what I was doing. It was very relaxing for me and after we landed I couldn’t believe we had done that.

I’ll be forever grateful to Kerry for allowing me to have had that experience. It was life changing for sure and I’ve never looked at flying the same again. It is such a privilege and blessing to be able to do this. As a pilot I want to do my best to learn all that I can so I can be safe. I want my passengers to look up to me if there was a crisis that showed itself. I want them to trust me and I want to be able to trust my knowledge and skills that I have developed to make the right choice in an emergency. Husky.jpg

Leave a comment